Paul Brach Lecture Series: Artist Ming Wong To Speak at CalArts

va_series_spring500

CalArts School of Art recently announced the Spring 2013 lineup for the Paul Brach Visiting Artist Lecture Series. The school has already welcomed lectures by artists Andrea Fraser, Tone Olaf Neilsen and Martin Goll so far this semester, and the series continues on Thursday (Feb. 14) with artist Ming Wong at 7 pm at CalArts.

Berlin-based Wong’s work explores “the performative veneers of language and identity, through his own ‘world cinema’.” He has received international recognition for his detailed performance and video works involving the history of world cinema and popular forms of entertainment.

Last March, his first Los Angeles solo exhibition, Making Chinatown, which was based on the Roman Polanski’s classic 1974 film, opened in the Gallery at REDCAT. Wong discusses the exhibition in the following video:

Below is the full schedule of remaining lectures (all are free and open to the public):

  • Kathryn Andrews
    Thurs. Feb. 21, 6 pm / F200 - Read more
  • Corinne May Botz
    Thurs. Feb. 28, 6 pm / F200 – Read more
  • Lesley Vance
    Thurs. March 7, 6 pm / F200 – Read more
  • Michelle Dizon
    Thurs. March 14, 7 pm / F200 – Read more
  • Jesal Kapadia
    Thurs. March 21, 6 pm / F200 - Read more
  • Suhail Malik
    Tues. April 2, 7 pm / F200 – Read more
  • Lucy Raven
    Thurs. April 4, 6 pm / F200 - Read more
  • Paul Sietsema
    Tues. April 9, 7 pm / F200 - Read more
  • Julieta Aranda & Anton Vidokle (e-flux)
    Thurs. April 11, 6 pm / F200 – Read more
  • Martha Rosler
    Thurs. April 18, 6 pm / F200 – Read more
  • Carlos Motta
    Thurs. April 25, 6 pm / F200 – Read more
  • Connie Butler
    Thurs. May 2, 6 pm / F200 – Read more
  • Jessica Rath
    Thurs. May 9, 6 pm / F200 – Read more

Ming Wong
Paul Brach Lecture Series
F200, CalArts
Feb. 14, 7 pm
Free 

Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)

 

Be the first to comment!