CalArtians Nominated for Ovation and NAACP Theatre Awards

Director Maureen Huskey’s (Theater MFA 09) cast was nominated for this year’s NAACP Theatre Award in the “Best Ensemble Cast” category. Above, Huskey directs the CalArts School of Theater production of ‘A Splendid Death’ in March.

Update 1: Actor Jacqueline Wright (Theater BFA 91) was also nominated for an Ovation Award for “Lead Actress In A Play” for her role as Jon Benét in ‘House of Gold.’

Update 2:  CalArts faculty, sound designer Drew Dalzell was also nominated for an Ovation Award in the Sound Design (Large Theatre) category for his work on ‘Old Wicked Songs.’

CalArts School of Theater alumni and faculty were once again well-represented in recently announced nominations for the 2012 Ovation Awards and the 2012 NAACP Theatre Awards.

The LA Stage Alliance’s Ovation Awards ceremony, scheduled for Nov. 12 at the Los Angeles Theatre, honors the best in L.A.’s local theater scene. This year, Actor Cesili Williams (Theater MFA 05) received an Ovation Nomination for “Best Leading Lady in a Musical” for The Color Purple, while actor Hugo Armstrong (Theater BFA 98), who won a “Featured Actor in a Play” Ovie in 2010, received two nominations this year: “Featured Actor” and “Acting Ensemble For A Play” in Waiting for Godot.

CalArtian designers were among the nominees as well. Movement/ performance faculty member Tina Kronis received a nomination in the “Choreography” category for The Treatment, lighting design faculty member Lap Chi Chu received a nod in the “Lighting Design (Large Theatre)” category for The Convert and costume designer Leah Piehl (Theater MFA 06) was nominated in the “Costume Design (Large Theater)” for her work in The Heiress.

Actor Sola Bamis performs in the CalArts School of Theater production of "Measure for Measure" directed by Robert Cucuzza in the Modular Theater in 2010.

Sola Bamis

Alumna actor Sola Bamis (Theater MFA 11), faculty member Charlayne Woodard and a cast helmed by directing alum Maureen Huskey (Theater MFA 09) all received nominations for the 22nd Annual NAACP Theatre Awards, which honors thespians among the best in the field of entertainment.

Bamis has been nominated for “Best Lead Female” for her role in The Bluest Eye, while Woodard received a nod both as “Best One Person Show” and “Best Playwright” for her solo piece, The Night Watcher. Huskey’s actors for Show Story, including actor Julian Evens (Theater BFA 10), received recognition for “Best Ensemble Cast.”

This year’s awards show will be held on Nov. 5 at 6  pm at the Directors Guild of America in Hollywood.


Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)



  1. Joe // //

    Missed a Cal Arts grad that was nominated guys– Jacqueline Wright as Jon Benét, “House of Gold” (Ensemble Studio Theatre-LA)- graduated in 1991 from Cal Arts School of Theater.

  2. Drew Dalzell // //

    I’m an alumnus and faculty and you missed me. Drew Dalzell, nominated for Sound Design.