CalArtians Nominated for Annie Awards

On Monday (Dec. 2), the International Animated Film Association announced the nominees for the 41st Annual Annie Awards, which honor achievement in the art of animation. Again this year, more than a dozen CalArtians have made it to the shortlist, with the recently released Frozen—directed and art directed by Chris Buck (Film/Video 78) and Michael Giaimo (Film/Video 78), respectively—leading the pack with ten nominations, including Best Animated Feature.

The Croods, directed by Chris Sanders (Film/Video BFA 84), is also vying for Best Animated Feature. Pendleton Ward’s (Film/Video BFA 05) Adventure Time and JG Quintel’s (Film/Video BFA 05) Regular Show are both in the running for Best Animated TV.

Below is a list of CalArtian nominees, by category:

Best Animated Feature

  • Frozen
  • The Croods

Best Animated TV/Broadcast Production For Children’s Audience

  • Adventure Time
  • Regular Show

Best Student Film

  • Move Mountain – Kirsten Lepore (Film/Video MFA 12)
  • Trusts & Estates – Jeanette Bonds (Film/Video BFA 11, MFA 13)

Character Design in an Animated TV/Broadcast Production

  • Craig McCracken (Film/Video 92) – Wander Over Yonder
  • Ben Adams (Film/Video BFA 09) – Regular Show
  • Colin Howard (Film/Video BFA 14) – Steven Universe

Directing in an Animated Feature Production

  • Chris Sanders – The Croods
  • Chris Buck – Frozen

Production Design in an Animated Feature Production

  • Yarrow Cheney (Film/Video 95) – Despicable Me 2
  • Michael Giaimo – Frozen

Storyboarding in an Animated TV/Broadcast Production

  • Alonso Ramos-Ramirez (Film/Video BFA 10) – Disney Mickey Mouse and Gravity Falls

Storyboarding in an Animated Feature Production

  • Steven MacLeod (Film/Video BFA 07) – The Croods
  • Eric Favela (Film/Video BFA 06) – Despicable Me 2

Writing in an Animated TV/Broadcast Production

  • Sean Szeles (Film/Video BFA 03) – Regular Show

Above, we posted the official trailer for Despicable Me 2. The Annie Awards black tie ceremony takes place at Royce Hall at UCLA on Feb. 1 at 7 pm.

Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)


Be the first to comment!