CalArtians Win at 47th Annie Awards

On Saturday, Jan. 25, the 47th Annual Annie Awards, presented by the International Animated Film Society (ASIFA), were held at UCLA’s Royce Hall in Los Angeles. As in previous years, CalArtians took home a number of awards, including the marquee Best Animated Feature for the Netflix production Klaus, directed by Sergio Pablos (Film/Video 92).

Klaus received the most Annies of the night, winning in all seven categories in which it was nominated. Pablos won the Best Feature Direction and Best Feature Storyboarding awards, with the Klaus team also winning for Best Feature Character Animation (Sergio Martins), Best Feature Character Design (Torsten Schrank), Best Feature Production Design (Szymon Biernaki and Marcin Jakubowski) and Best Feature Editorial (Pablo Garcia Revert).

Two more CalArtians were among the nominees for the Best Animated Feature category: Chris Buck (Film/Video 78), who co-directed Frozen 2 with Jenifer Lee, and Andrew Stanton (Film/Video BFA 87) for Toy Story 4.

Several CalArtian animators were honored during the live awards ceremony. Henry Selick (Film/Video MFA 77) and John Musker (Film/Video 77) were presented with the Winsor McCay Awards, one of the animation industry’s highest honors. Musker’s longtime directing partner Ron Clements also received the award. CalArts alum Jeanette Bonds (Film/Video BFA 11, MFA 13) received the June Foray Award, given for significant and benevolent or charitable impact on the art and industry of animation.

Below is a list of the CalArtian Annie Award winners:

Best Animated Feature
Klaus, Sergio Pablos (Film/Video 92)

Best Direction: Feature
Klaus, Sergio Pablos (Film/Video 92)

Best Storyboarding: Feature
Klaus, Sergio Pablos (Film/Video 92)

Best Direction: TV/Media
Disney Mickey Mouse, Alonso Ramirez Ramos (Film/Video BFA 10)

Best VR
Bonfire, created by Baobab Studios, which is founded and run by CalArts alum Eric Darnell (Film/Video MFA 90).

Winsor McCay Awards
Henry Selick (Film/Video MFA 77)
John Musker (Film/Video 77)

June Foray Award
Jeanette Bonds (Film/Video BFA 11, MFA 13)

View the complete list of winners here. The entire broadcast of the 47th Annie Awards can be streamed on their website.

Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)


Be the first to comment!